To drive efficiency and dedication to duty in the State’s tax administration process, Edo State Internal Revenue Service (EIRS), on Saturday, January 21, 2023, presented award plaques to deserving branches.

Also awarded was Commissioner for Physical Planning, Housing Urban and Regional Development,  Isoken Omo for provision of collaborative and technical support as an aligned tax driver.

The award ceremony took place during the EIRS first Management Performance Review (MPR) meeting, for the year, at the Sunny Okundia Training School.

Chairman, Taskforce on IGR. Hon. John Osagie Inegbedion got the Trailblazer Award while the EIRS Acting Head, Mrs. Sadat Abu got presented with the Revenue House Cornerstone Award.

Speaking earlier on the uniqueness of the January MPR Meeting, Hon. Inegbedion stated, “This month’s review is special as we will be taking an appraisal of our performance in the previous years and commend those whose efforts made the performance possible because we believe that appreciating results is a catalyst for improved and better performance.”

He recalled the feats of Mr. Ese Owie, Chief Oseni Elamah  and Igbinidu Inneh whose efforts gave direction to IGR growth from N280million to N1billion, the reforms which led to  instituting of the Edo Revenue Administration Law, 2012, which empowered EIRS at being an autonomous revenue agency of government as well as the introduction of the Edo Revenue Administration System, respectively.

While appreciating taxpayers for being steadfast at remittance of tax, he highlighted achievements of his committee with its ability to meet the four billion naira (N4B) monthly internally generated revenue (IGR) collection target, used for developmental basis by the state government.

Awards categories for the branches/units were, “Highest Revenue Collecting Branches, Award for Exceeding 2022 Budget Target, Award for Highest PAYE Collection, Most Impactful Unit and Enabler, Branches with Highest Direct Assessment Collection, Branches with Highest Consumption Tax Collection, Branches with Highest MVA Collection, Revenue Ambassadors amongst others.

Some of the awardees  included, Zonal Manager EIRS Office Okpella, Mr. Dickson Eshiemokhai; Branch Manager (GRA 1) Mr. Okelanwo Segun Dennis;  Branch Manager Okada Tax Office, Mr. Solomon Jesuhobo Jonathan; Zonal Manager Oredo Zone 2, Odia Eghosa Brown were amongst award recipients who noted that they saw the award as a call to duty with the pledge to do more while not failing to appreciate management and colleagues.